+86 (21) 6431 2571

+86 137 6127 6394

How to Stay in China for 6 Days without a Visa

Foreigners are now eligible to stay in China without visa application for 6 days during a transit.

China has restarted its 144-hour visa-free transit policy that allows people from certain countries to travel to select areas of China for six days without applying for a visa beforehand. After three years of COVID-19 restrictions, the policy has been reinstated.

Who’s eligible?

To obtain this visa exemption, the foreign national must have a valid passport from one of the 53 countries, which includes: 

  • 24 countries in the Europe Schengen area: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. 
  • 15 other countries in Europe: Russia, United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, Albania, Monaco, and Belarus.
  • Six countries in the Americas: the United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, and Chile. 
  • Two countries in Oceania: Australia and New Zealand. 
  • Six countries in Asia: South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, the United Arab Emirates, and Qatar. 

How does it work?

Actually, the 144-hour visa-free transit policy has gradually been resumed since January, the 144-hour visa-free transit policy has expanded to 20 cities involving 29 ports.

In order to apply for visa-free transit, foreigners are required to have: 

  • A valid passport or another international travel document that is valid for more than three months from the arrival date; 
  • An interline ticket (connecting ticket) with the confirmed departure date and seat number leaving for a third country or region within 144 hours; and 
  • The landing card for foreigners in transit that is filled out upon arrival in China. 

It’s important to note that in most cases (except in Guangdong Province), you will be required to exit the country through one of the same ports that are permitted for entry. In most cases, this will be the same port as the one you arrived through. 

You may also be required to answer some questions at immigration control upon arrival.